Coming Soon!!!!

books“Not all readers are leaders, but all leaders are readers.”

~~ Harry Truman~~

If you read my most recent post about ministry (What is Ministry?), you will know that I have struggled somewhat over the last few months with how to proceed with this blog. Honestly, I have had quite the case of “writer’s block.” Since all five of my kids are visiting my parents over Spring Break, I will have quite a bit of time on my hands (Yay, me!), and I have decided to dedicate some of it to reading. I know that I will not get to read all of the books on my list over the break (I’m also planing to sort through the stash of old papers, schoolbooks, and miscellaneous “kid stuff” that is now taking up space in what is supposed to be my sewing room!), but I would like to make a nice dent in the stack! I know that these books are going to be an encouragement to me, and I want to share some of what I learn through them by publishing a book review post for each one that I finish!

Here are the books on my reading list:

  1. When Others Make Your Life Difficult (Daniel E. Miller) – This is a booklet that my Mom gave me last summer. It has short, easy to read chapters and is filled with Scriptural principles.
  2. The Burden Bearer (Paul Chappell) – I won this in a drawing at our church’s annual Ladies’ Retreat last fall, and I have been slowly reading it since then. It has been a blessing so far, and I look forward to finishing it soon!
  3. Off Script: What to do When God Rewrites Your Life (Cary Schmidt) – My friend Stephanie recommended this book to a new mom in our church, and it seemed like a book that I could learn from during our time of transition!
  4. Out of Commission: Getting Every Christian Back to the Great Commission (Paul Chappell) – My husband and I were both encouraged to hear our pastor, Pastor Brandon Sichting, talk recently about several books that he has read that have challenged or encouraged him in the ministry! This is one of those books, and I am excited to read it as well!

I hope that you’ll join me for this new adventure and that it will be a challenge to you to find Godly reading material that will encourage you in your Christian walk!

Leave a Reply

